The rulers of Ha-Masia are Vhalaudzi of Govhamasenga. Oral history has it that the Vhalaudzi were part of Vhasenzi, the group led by the Singo, and that the Vhalaudzi were led by Govhamasenga (also known as Gwamasenga) and his half-brother Tshimudi. Vhalaudzi settled along Mutshedzi River in the Nzhelele valley. The area where the Vhalaudzi settled is known as Vhulaudzi (meaning “the land of Vhalaudzi”)

Govhamasenga had four wives, and his children were:

  • First house: Masia Mbando (Masia), Ratshikwekwete (Netshimbupfe), Mukovhi (Netshivhulana), and their sister Tshinavhe;
  • Second house: Tshipetane and his sister Mwongwe;
  • Third house: Makumbane, Mulungufhala, and their sister Mukumela; and
  • Fourth house: Maphaha, Mahadulula, Ndadza, and Makongodza.

The Singo domination of Venda was entrenched during King Thohoyandou’s rule. Thohoyandou, whose mother was Govhamasenga’s sister, placed various loyal chiefs across the kingdom to ensure that people paid tribute to him. During his reign, Thohoyandou deployed his son Munzhedzi Mpofu, to Songozwi, his brother Raluswielo (Tshivhase) to Dopeni, Govhamasenga and Tshimudi to Mapulaneng and Mashishing (Lydenburg).

Govhamasenga and his children settled at Mapulaneng, while Tshimudi and his son, Tshilinde, settled at Mashishing. Both Govhamasenga and Tshilinde did not like Mapulaneng and Mashishing. They, therefore, returned to Venda after Thohoyandou’s disappearance in 1770.

Govhamasenga and his children initially settled at Tshinavheni. They later left Tshinavheni and settled in the following areas:

  • Masia Mbando settled at Tshiphuseni;
  • Maphaha settled at Vhulorwa;
  • Mahadulula settled at Phawe in Vhulaudzi;
  • Makongodza settled at Ha-Makongodza;
  • Mukovhi settled at Tshivhulana and named himself after the area. He became known as Netshivhulana (the ruler of Tshivhulana);
  • Ratshikwekwete conquered Tshimbupfe which was under the Vhakwevho of Mammbana. He also named himself after the area he conquered and became known as Netshimbupfe (the ruler of Tshimbupfe);
  • Makumbane settled at Tshisahulu and ruled the area from Dzindi to Tshinane;
  • Govhamasenga and Tshipetane settled at Tshituwani, known today as Hamutsha (Hamutsha u tshi anea). This is where Govhamasenga died.

Masia Mbando ruled Ha-Masia from 1793 to 1828. He was succeeded by his son, Munwai (also known as Munwali wa Malithoho). Munwai relocated his musanda (royal kraal) from Tshiphuseni to Manndoro, Tshikwarani.

Munwai was succeeded by his son, Tshinavhe who was named after Masia Mbando’s sister. His praise name was tshinavhela vhavhuya, vhavhi vha kandwa nga thohoni

Tshinavhe was succeeded by his son, Ramauba. Ramauba died in 1952 and was succeeded by Ntshavheni (Tshinavhe Thomas Masia). Ntshavheni ruled from 1953 to 1999. He was succeeded by his son, Ramauba Masia (Ramauba III) who ruled from 2002 to 2004. Ramauba III died without leaving an heir to the Masia throne. After some deliberations, the Masia royal council decided to install Ramauba III’s brother, Mmbangiseni Joseph Masia, as the Khosi of Ha-Masia in 2007. Mmbangiseni was given the title of Nthumeni.

Click to enlarge

Ha-Masia is made of the following areas:

  • Tshikwarani (Musanda)
  • Ha-Matsila
  • De Hoop (previously taken and turned into a white farm)
  • Tshiphuseni
  • Tandavhalwe
  • Ongedacht
  • Vyeboom (A, B, C and D)
  • Vuwani township
  • Nkuzana
  • Kurhuleni
  • Ka-Majosi.

The Masia community has lodged a claim with the Land Claims Commission and is claiming the following farms from which families were forcibly removed by successive white governments:

  • Naboomkop;
  • Verzamaling; and
  • Waterboom


  • Professor WMRD Phophi – Nganea dza Vhurululu ha Ha-Tshivhasa na Lwamondo;
  • Dr M Nemudzivhadi – Paper Delivered on 26 April 2002 at Tshikwarani (Ha-Masia) on the Enthronement of Khosi Ramauba Masia Mbando; and
  • Done anMr Murendeni Masia – Masia Development Trust